Bravo! Award Winners Announced

by iscadmin. Support

Distinguished Patron Award

General Manager Mark North presents the Distinguished Patron Award to John and Suzy Shierholz of Ames

In the spirit of the great Clifford Y. Stephens, whose vision and generosity made Stephens Auditorium a reality, a special event was hosted on the auditorium stage Tues., October 4.

The Donor Appreciation event celebrates the 500-plus donors who choose to give to directly to underwrite the talent fees paid to the artists and attractions that grace the stage of Stephens Auditorium. The event included the presentation of the C.Y. Stephens Bravo Awards, which recognize outstanding individuals and organizations who keep the arts accessible to our community.

Young Patron Award

General Manager Mark North presents the Young Patron Award to Jay and Karen Heldt-Chapman of Urbandale.

The awards went to:

  • Distinguished Patron Award – John and Suzy Shierholz of Ames
  • Outstanding Business Award – Bankers Trust (presented to John Russell and Jana Rieker)
  • Young Patron Award – Jay and Karen Heldt-Chapman of Urbandale
Outstanding Business Award

General Manager Mark North presents the Outstanding Business Award to representatives from Bankers Trust.

The evening featured a talented young cellist, Narek Hakhnazaryan who is originally from Armenia. Guests were able to chat with this engaging young musician in an informal setting following the performance.

Donations to the Performing Arts Fund make it possible to bring the arts to people who might otherwise not be able to afford tickets, General Manager Mark North noted. Stephens Auditorium offers reduced prices for students and youth, as well as school-time programs and residencies with young artists like Mr. Hakhnazaryan.

Remember, it’s easy to give!

Previous C.Y. Stephens Performing Arts Bravo Awards


Distinguished Patron Award –
Cecilia and Jack Horner
Outstanding Corporation/Foundation Award –
Ames Convention and Visitors Bureau
Young Patron Award –
Jim Beckwith


Distinguished Patron Award –
Elizabeth Beck
Outstanding Corporation/Foundation Award –
Greater Iowa Credit Union
Family Patron of the Arts Award –
The Larson/White Family


Distinguished Patron Award –
Frankee and Jim Oleson
Outstanding Corporation/Foundation Award –
Best Western University Park Inn and Suites
Young Patron of the Arts Award –
Justin and Heather Greenlee


Distinguished Patron Award –
Wayne P. Davis and Ferne Bonomi Davis
Outstanding Corporation/Foundation Award –
Kawaler Family Charitable Foundation
Young Patron of the Arts Award –
Duane and Megan Wolf